How to date an Indian

Something took me to huffingtonpost, and one thing led to another…
And I stumbled upon this article.. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/andrea-miller/dating-advice-how-to-date_b_596496.html titled How to Date an Indian (Advice for the Non-Indian) by Andrea Miller who is married to a man from Delhi. The responses ranged from those who were almost outraged to those who thought it was ridiculous to the people who found it amusing. I only read the first page of comments (out of 7!) but one commenter caught my eye.  Krishanu Karmakar writes “Why should I (as an Indian guy) expect my non-Indian date (not wife or girlfriend, note it please) to have a favourite bollywood film, hero or heroine?”. I think this resonates with me because I never think someone should try to be too fake just to impress a date or try too hard to be someone they are not. That would, in fact, totally turn me off! Now, if someone genuinely had those interests, its fine to share, but just learning about bollywood stars to score points with your Indian interest? Lame.

Anyway, Im sure the author’s intent was harmless and meant to be taken in jest (I hope). Guess Im too serious, lol. But, I don’t find it offensive either.

What do you think??

~ by honeybeeluvsjackfruit on November 9, 2010.

2 Responses to “How to date an Indian”

  1. I am a very honest person, to myself and others. I would be lying if I tried to seem overly interested in South Asian culture. This might make me sound self-absorbed but I am no desiphile. I simply met a South Asian man. Do I appreciate the new perspectives and experiences he’s brought to my life? Absolutely. But he fell for me, not for some white girl pretending to be a Pakistani.

Leave a Reply

 
