Priceless! And overpriced?

I think this video is making the rounds online, and it is pretty funny.

I wonder how many women’s first thought was about that dang dress.

Just what is it about weddings? Especially in times when people have sex, live together, and sometimes have children before getting married, why is the wedding this big humongous deal? Oh, of course, I can understand making it special, sharing with family and friends, making that commitment to each other, and getting prettied up. But I CANT understand spending ridiculous amounts of money on it, often more than they can afford. Nor becoming obsessively stressed out that every minute detail be absolutely perfect.

In America girls grow up with fairy princess ideas about love and marriage. The phrase, “But its MY DAY!” being whined incessantly, is part of a brides repetoire. Now we have shows like Bridezilla and Say Yes to the Dress. Sometimes it looks like the wedding day is given more imortance than the marriage itself. I guess alot of it comes down to it being “fun” to plan such things, and I get that, I do, but some people take selfishness and unwise spending to a whole new level.

In India, the demands for dowry and extravagance can be equally disgusting. Although I do think weddings there happen on more of a “normal” scale, other than the number of guests (and not counting the uber rich) competition abounds to wearing more gold, having best caterers and being more lavish than “xyz’s” wedding. Spending a family’s life savings or worse, going into debt is sad and seems like a waste.

As for the woman in the video, well, I hope she still had a beautiful day after changing into a dry tshirt and jeans and I wish her many happy memories in the years to come, because really, thats what its all about!

~ by honeybeeluvsjackfruit on October 21, 2008.

One Response to “Priceless! And overpriced?”

  1. It’d be a great story – and that’s one wedding video where the people forced to watch it won’t be bored.

    Personally, we got married in the US in a civil ceremony. I wore a nice cream cocktail dress with black trim that I’ve worn several times since. I can’t imagine spending tons of money on a dress that will be worn once. I’ve worn my sari from my Indian wedding a couple of times too.

    I suspect, though, that on the whole Indians are actually worse than Americans on spending a percentage of their wealth one weddings and dowries. I don’t have the statistics on hand, but I think it’s something like the rural poor spend about 20% of their lifetime wealth on weddings. When you’re so poor that it’s hard to buy food in some years, that’s an incredible percentage expenditure.

Leave a Reply

 
